Happy Place Found… in Japan?

Image

According to Google, the distance between Newry, Maine and Okinawa, Japan is 7,410 miles. That is quite the journey if you ask me. This also happens to be the current distance between myself and my mother. Why Japan? My older brother, the Special Forces badass, who could probably kill me fourteen different ways with his pinky, is stationed there. Combining powers with his wife, they created a beautiful baby boy who was just born a few weeks ago. So, off goes my lovely mother, traveling across the world by herself to a foreign place to see her newborn grandson for three weeks.

I know, I know. Such a nice family story, but what does this have to do with Sunday River or skiing at all? Well, my mother, who I’ve appropriately nicknamed “Japanese Jill” for the duration of her trip, is basically my biggest fan when it comes to my daily snow reporting. Apparently, being on the other side of the world isn’t stopping her, since the first text I received was a compliment about that day’s Mountain Report. Nothing about her 24 hours of traveling, or her newborn grandson; she simply informed me that she read and enjoyed my writing. Nearly 7,500 miles away and she could still tell you how much snow we received or where to find the freshest corduroy on the mountain. The best part? She’s never skied a day in her life. If that ain’t love, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

